Portable Infusion Pump

Portable Infusion Pump

So yesterday was the big scary day of going for my first chemo infusion. Robin and I went down to Georgetown University and met with Karen Vogel the clinical trials nurse who works with Dr. Pishvaian. She happened to have 4 young girls (1 going into med school the youngest a senior in high school) interning for the summer following her around. So for the first part of the morning I had my little entourage following me about. It was kind of fun having my little gaggle of “groupies” and it gave me a couple of good laughs, which I really needed.

Met with Dr. Pishvaian to go over things. The genetic test they did suggested that the uber chemo I’m getting could be backed off a bit. Of course that’s always up for re-evaluation. Other than that he had nothing really new to share so it was then off to the 5 North (building location) where they do the infusion.

There we met Sonia who had me immediately falling in love when she asked me if I was a trouble maker. HA had me pegged from the get go. The treatment took about 4 hours in total. The infusions themselves took about 3 hours and the other hour was waiting for the pharmacy to put together my next “cocktail” and have it sent up. At then end I was hooked up to a portable pump and a bag of loving to take home with me for the next 46 hours. Robin and I haven’t figured out a good name for my new best friend so feel free to chime in. I suggested Ivan the Infusion Pump but she wrinkled her nose to that. The mediport however is and shall fondly remain “Stinky”.

So far I’m feeling fine. The side effects, if I experience any at all, aren’t supposed to kick in until tomorrow and should abate by Tuesday.

So there’s your CANCER WATCH 2013 update for the day. Stay tuned to this channel for more exciting coverage.

PS I just had to end with this scripture that my good friend Fred Carr sent me.

2Co 4:16-18
So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.
For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison,
as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

Peace,
Mike