Yesterday at 1:07 PM my little friend beeped farewell letting me know that my first chemo treatment had come to an end. Robin and I had timed things well as we were already heading back down to Georgetown to have the infusion pump detached. I walk in and there’s Marta (receptionist in the oncology infusion wing) sitting behind the counter and I had to ask her if she ever gets a day off. She laughed and even though we’ve both joked about how bad we are with names she recognized me this time. On went the ceremonial plastic wrist band and I immediately get swooped off by a nurse who dutifully checks me over and disconnects everything. 15 minutes after getting to the hospital I was back in the car and we were heading home. I love it when there’s no waiting around at the hospital.

First Round Done.

