I was feeling a bit down today because of all that didn’t transpire yesterday as we’d hoped.  I was also starting to feel some of the stomach pains coming back in the afternoon.  Nothing like I had 3 weeks ago but just a friendly reminder that all is not well in Whoville. But then I got an email from the good Dr. Carr that I would like to share with you.

I was in the sanctuary a little while ago, with the Shepherding Report, which I use for guided prayer.  I saw your name and was thinking about your procedure yesterday.  I’m trying to imagine what you are going through.  And more importantly, how you are going through it.  So I was representing you to the Lord and asking for his special expressions of grace.

Speaking of which, I am studying Corinthians and working on what Paul meant when he wrote God’s words, “My grace is sufficient”.  Can I say this?  God’s grace is sufficient for me, even if it is not all that I am asking for?  Can I rest in God’s provisions and affirm that what he is giving me is “grace” and it is sufficient?

2Co 12:8  Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me.
2Co 12:9  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

What he wrote to me and the timeliness of his writing it, once again points out to me God’s mercy during this trial. God’s grace IS more than sufficient and I can take rest in all that He has provided. But I find myself stumbling more than I would want especially at this time. Thankfully God has surrounded me with faithful friends who are constantly reminding me of God’s promises. Praise God for His endless mercies.

Peace,
Mike

