Tags

, ,

I just got back from the Medstar Montgomery Infusion Center and my 5th chemotherapy treatment. I went in this morning to have the normal blood draw so they can see how things are looking. Once again the mediport refused to play nice and no matter what antics we tried the nurse could not get a blood draw from it. So we went old school and got it out of the water main of an artery I have on my right arm. Gwen the nurse is good, I kid you not I did not even feel the slightest prick.

I then went over to see Dr. Pishvaian and see what further details he had to share from last weeks CT Scan. He was very pleased with the outcome of the past scan. There was a marked improvement noted in multiple lesions in the liver, some of them to the point that they didn’t show up this time and the largest had measurably decreased in size. Overall from what the doc shared and the copy of the report I’ve read I don’t think we could have asked for more. The chemo has had it’s desired effect and my oncologist feels my body has put up with it well. Of course I told him that I didn’t think I recovered as well after the last treatment, that the nausea continued longer than before. He told me that the nausea is mostly attributed to the bolus injection of 5FU I receive before they hook me up to PIP.
Meaning; I get a big’ol straight shot of the same chemo drug I come home with for the next 46 hours on the portable infusion pump.

As I’m writing this I can already tell that I’ve got the chemo brain thing happening, or as I call it ‘fuzzy head’. Serious decision making is not something I even dugthedogconsider attempting at this point. And multitasking is even more laughable than normal. Think Dug the Dog from the movie Up. For the first time I also understand what they mean by neuropathy in my fingers.  The tips of my fingers have the same tingling feeling you get when a part of your body has fallen asleep and the blood finally starts flowing again. It’s not what I’d call painful, but it is a wee bit annoying.

Oh, and I am on the list for the clinical trial that I’ve mentioned but won’t be getting on it till that latter end of October.

Peace,
Mike

